3 Reasons Every Introvert Should Write

There is a lot going on in the busy minds of an Introvert. With the loud world we live in and the daily over exposure to everyones ‘highlight reel’ you can sometimes feel a bit overwhelmed. That is why writing could be an extremely helpful tool for those introverts struggling to feel heard. I know for me, writing has been an outlet since I was in High School. I had a journal and I used to write in it everyday up till my early twenties. I know it helped me to write down my thoughts and live in my feelings through that particularly challenging “who am I” time in life. Writing is similar to mediation in how it increases neural activity in the brain which can help relieve stress and on a deeper level help with mental health issues like depression. Here is a short list of why I believe it’s beneficial for Introverts to write. Whether it’s pages upon pages, or just a simple list – writing is a great way to obtain clarity and peace of mind.

  1. Stress reliever- Although there are many many many platforms these days where you can voice your opinion, there’s nothing like sitting down with a journal and pen (or your laptop/cell) and writing it out. This form of therapy (what I call it) allows us to be free flowing with our thoughts and emotions which can help us to sort through them. Next time you’re feeling upset about something, try writing it down. Go somewhere quiet and just get every single point down and see if you feel lighter afterwards. Writing is not a skill that must be mastered, you write just to write. Do it for yourself and yourself alone. Heck – no one ever has to ever see it but you. So get it out and free your mind from the negative, anxious, angry, sad, overwhelmed feelings you have. I can promise that you will walk away feeling (at least a little) better than you had felt before.
  2. Connection– Being an INFJ, I have always been a better writer than verbal communicator, and I think many introverts feel the same way. Because we need time to really think about our thoughts or feelings on a situation, we are not always as prepared to discuss things up front and end up leaving conversations having moments where we go ‘I should have said this.’ Which of course, is okay, not everyone is the same in the way they are able to express themselves, but this is where writing could be an invaluable tool. Growing up my Best Friend was an INTP and confrontation or heavily emotional situations left her feeling completely overwhelmed that she’d almost completely shut down. It wasn’t until she had time (and got away) that she was able to process and communicate appropriately, and many times it was in written form. Being able to bridge the gap in communication with writing and be able to connect to our loved ones and colleagues with our thoughtfully processed words instead of our jumbled under processed words, can help to strengthen the relationships in our lives.
  3. Organization – This one may sound silly, but nothing makes me feel more in control when I’m feeling a little over stimulated than a good ole’ list. Christmas is just around the corner and so is my sons first birthday. (YAY!) I have a double whammy of events and things to get prepared for and I found myself getting really annoyed trying to take mental notes because it felt like each time I’d have something different and I couldn’t remember everything. Then one night after putting my son down, I turned my normal brain back on, I laughed at myself and said “you have a literal app on your cell phone called “NOTES” use it Jenn!”. Now I have my checklist and feel way less overwhelmed just by simply having a place where my thoughts are organized. Also, I have a few ISTJ’s in my life who are probably the LEAST emotional people I have ever met, (but I love every cynical hilarious bone in their cold hearted little bodies) and to them a journal about their ’emotions’ would never happen. Like Ever. but I can promise you, they all fancy themselves a ‘to-do-list’. Sometimes it doesn’t need to be this full on 200 page journal that you write in religiously, sometimes it can be as a simple as having a list of things you need to do when you’re feeling stressed that can help you feel relax and get refocused.

We all have our different levels of analytical thoughts to emotional feelings and what fits one persons form of expression will not fit another. But what I can say is that writing is a form of self expression that everyone can use to help to relieve stress, gain clarity on their thoughts, and truly connect to the people in their lives. More than that, it’s something that can make you healthier in your mind and body, and at the end of the day, that is what’s the most important. Next time you’re feeling stressed out and need to vent, give writing a try. Maybe it’ll be just what you need to feel better.

Here are some of my favorite quotes about writing that I hope will inspire you to get started –

‘’You write because you need to write, or because you hope someone will listen or because writing will mend something broken inside you or bring something back to life” – Joanne Harris 

“A personal journal is an ideal environment in which to “become”. It is a perfect place for you to think, feel, discover, expand, remember, and dream.” – Brad Wilcox

“You can, you should, and if you’re brave enough to start, you will. Writing is magic, as much the water of life as any other creative art. The water is free so drink. Drink and be filed up” – Stephen King

“Writing is therapeutic. It helps you cope with issues that seem gargantuan at the time. The process of expressing yourself about a problem, editing your thoughts, and writing some more can help you control issues that you face” – Guy Kawasaki 

“Start writing, no matter what. The water does not flow until the faucet is turned on” – Louis L’Amour

2 thoughts on “3 Reasons Every Introvert Should Write”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.